Review

Eda Nadia
1 contribution
Family
Prames S
Bayan Lepas, Malaysia
8 contributions
Friends
Thanks to the Tour Guide, Execelent explanations and self boat rider.. We had a good experience.. Having to know all the activities at port weld, Eagle feeding and Fish feeding as well.
 AMAXING! Unexpectedly very informative cruise trip. We learned a lot! Mr Khairul help to accomodate my last minute booking and Mr Arif our tour guide was Great! He answer to all our question. It was all worth it. Everyone should experience this. Bonus we even found Dolphin on our trip..

I’ll give 7 star!
 Eda Nadia
1 contribution
Family
AMAXING! Unexpectedly very informative cruise trip. We learned a lot! Mr Khairul help to accomodate my last minute booking and Mr Arif our tour guide was Great! He answer to all our question. It was all worth it. Everyone should experience this. Bonus we even found Dolphin on our trip..

I’ll give 7 star!
 
Nurhamizah
1 contribution
Family
Very good experience with en. Khairul and his son amirul. River cruise with lots of information and explanation about the mangrove and the habitants. Semasa cruise, kami berpeluang melihat burung kopiah hitam yang jarang dijumpai, aktiviti eagle feeding, dan semasa melawat tempat ternakan ikan boleh beri ikan makan. Overall sangat2 bestπŸ‘πŸ˜Š
Written 23 January 2022

















Lydia Mason
1 contribution
Friends
My second time on this tour.Excellent sunrise guided tour with an experience guide, En Khairul and son Amirul.Good explainations and exciting experiences during the tour.Watching birds , animals and activities along the river and swamp forests.We visited the fish farm as well and everyone had a good time holding the belangkas and taking photos at multiple sites of interest and wonderful views. The history of Kuala Sepetang and Port Weld was very interesting. By the way, this lovely tour comes with simple buffet breakfast of Nasi Lemak, roti canai ,assorted bread and tea.Would highly recommend this tour to international and local tourists. I definitely would come again .Thank you En Khairul and Amirul.We enjoyed ourselves very much.
Written 26 January 2022

Elusival
Penang Island, Malaysia
65 contributions
Family
Very professional service. We did the private boat tour in the morning. Breakfast was included! Khairul is very knowledgeable regarding flora, fauna and local context. He is great explaining concepts to children and kept my 6 and 3 year olds very engaged throughout the trip. We saw many species of birds, otters, monitor lizards. Overall and amazing tour and I hope we will visit again very soon!
Written 27 January 2022

Afni Z
8 contributions
Family
1. The seating of the boat- every passanger has own seat.

2. En Khairul is very knowledgeable. He explained about fishing activity and types of boats, history of kuala sepetang, making of arang and some general knowledge about bakau. We even had great time knowing about bakau seed.

3. En Khairul brought us to see a group of eagles flying close to the boat. The kids had great time. Best experience. Not to mention fish feeding before that.

4. All in all we are very satisfied with our boat trip.

5. En Khairul has great talent of delivering info in fun ways. Even the kids love him.
Written 1 February 2022

nqamar0405
Bandar Saujana Putra, Malaysia
1 contribution
Family
Relaxing and laughing while cruising the river was one of the experience that we will never forget!will definitely come back to catch a glimpe of the dolphin next time!not to forget mr khairul has a really good character and kids enjoy the trip and the information he gave during the trip was also great!i do recommended this trip!

Nomad321388
1 contribution
Couples
We booked a private Boat tour in the early morning to see the sunrise...it started on time 7am . We were amazed to see and listen of the sounds of nature when a new day wakes up to be alive...we witnessed how the fishermen cleared their load and the birds were waiting to get a easy catch of leftowers from the fishermen...we watched many differant birds, specially the kingfishers amazed us, because of all their colors. After the tour we went to a Warung for Breakfast and it was so lovely to get a setted up table with table clothes and flowers by our tour guide. He is a truly man of details. Thank you for this fantastic morning we will remember this forever!
Written 5 February 2022

Yang
1 contribution
Family
Excellent briefing by the host (En Khairul) about the mangrove and the animals. We gain such a good experience and new knowledge. En Khairul very knowledgeable and the way he gave the info very polite and enjoyable…
Written 6 February 2022


NataliaNavinThomas
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 contributions
Family
It was a memorable experience. Guide is very knowledgeable, kind and fun.
absolutely recommended for those who like nature
Written 12 February 2022


PeiYeeTong
1 contribution
Family
Excellent private tour. Resourceful, knowledgeable and funny tour guide, En. Khairul.

My family had a wonderful time on the boat. Actually we booked En. Khairul for Package A for river cruise, eagle sighting and fish farm. After that, we added on firefly trip which bring excitement to all of us.

I highly recommended En.Khairul as the best your guide πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘. Definitely will share my great experience with my family members and friends.
Written 7 March 2022

ricwong74
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
35 contributions
Booked this tour for a day trip to Kuala Sepetang. Our friendly & amiable guide Encik Khairul took us for an enjoyable 2 hour boat ride to explore Sungai Sepetang and the Mangrove river side. Pleasant guided tour with the guide explaining to us the conservation efforts taken to protect the mangrove eco system. Visited the quaint fishing village of Kuala Sangga and a floating fish farm. Got to feed the Brahminy Kites but alas could not spot any dolphins. Just our luck. Overall a friendly and knowledgeable guide and we had a good time.
Written 12 March 2022


Nurhafizah Z
Kuala Lumpur
36 contributions
Family
Booked a day before.easy & fast respondπŸ‘

Mr Khairul was already on the boat w our breakfast as we arrived at 8am. Friendly & very knowledgable regarding Kuala Sepetang.

Morning view was spectacular! First we went upstream to observed the fishing village where some of them just arrive & sorting prawn/fishes to sell. These generous fishermen will gv some to the birds & making it a beautiful flocking scene😍. We even encounter a family of beaver swimming & eating.

Then he showed us charcoal factory by the riverbank & then we went downstream & pitstop on a fish farm. Here we can feed the fishes, face to face with a family of horseshoecrab, pufferfish.

While on the boat, Mr Khairul showed us 2 types of kingfisher which is fame among birdwatchers. Theres even a slot for eagle feeding. Abundant species in one habitat!

Love every minute of this tour!
The surrounding animal & mangrove species, local activities, types of birds & even the history of JWW Birch & Ngah Ibrahim (theres also a museum nearby-MUZIUM MANJUNG). Will come again one day to watch the Irrawaddy dolphine🀩

Thank you Mr. Khairul.
Recommended nature guide πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

Kee Tat
3 contributions
Was on a bird watching trip with Mr Khairul. Managed to get good photos of Kingfishers, Eaglets, Kites, Terns, even otters.
Mr Khairul have good knowledge of local communities as well.
Well worth it trip ! Will definitely do it again.
Written 19 March 2022


Nurul Farahanna
1 contribution
Family
The part where we were able to spot a number of wild animals both marine and land is a win.. hands on knowledge on mangroves and a very interactive tour experience! We enjoy every moment of it
Written 1 April 2022

NathanL
Penang, Malaysia
54 contributions
This trip far exceeeded my expectations. Khairul who runs the tour is a former teacher, and his passion to share about the mangroves, the conservation, the dolphins, and the fireflies is so clear to see. He was a wealth of knowledge and was very engaging. We had actually booked this tour just to see the fireflies, but even in the first 20 minutes before we went that way we had already seen and been told so much and enjoyed it by that point that we could have skipped the fireflies and it would still have been amazing. The fireflies themselves were a special bonus on top.
Written 7 April 2022

Jin Earn
Kajang, Malaysia
2 contributions
Family
Khairul was very patience and helpful in explaining details throughout the trips. We enjoyed ourselves very much for the boat cruise and the fireflies watching session. It is a must to go for the fireflies watching!
Written 7 April 2022

Trusted_Wanderers
Shah Alam, Malaysia
13 contributions
Family
Khairul went above and beyond to ensure that we had a very memorable experience. He knew all the hotspots of the fireflies and gave a very insightful tour with his knowledge accumulated over 14 years. Whether you're a tourist or local, this is, in our opinion, a highly recommended activity!


Karkhai T
8 contributions
Family
Wonderful trip with excellent explanations. Passionate and knowledgeable En Khairul is the best to guide us and bring us around during the tour.

Adilah S
4 contributions
Family
The best educational boat trip along the Mangrove and river. The boat captain is knowledgable, funny and interactive. My kids had so much fun, you must visit Kuala Sepetang to complete your taiping trip.

s.d.
1 contribution
Lovely sharing about the mangroves & lifestyle of the fishing community. We had a wonderful time cruising the beautiful river with seagulls following/chasing our boat. Kids really enjoyed feeding the fishes at the fish farm. We also fed the eagles. Maybe next time we can meet some dolphins.

klfow
1 contribution
Family
The boat ride is fantastic! We are a family of four adults and two boys. We prebooked this private boat ride with Mr. Khairul two days before our visit to Kuala Sepetang. The ride is hassle free as everything has been prepared and planned according to the schedule. So, we just need to show up on time.
Our guide, Mr Khairul, is friendly and knowledagble about the mangrove forest. We really enjoy the ride and the spectacular scenery of the mangrove forest the lively fishing town. Our boys especially enjoy the fish and eagle feeding activities :)

Alice
1 contribution
Family
Very friendly and interactive captain Jack Khairul...highly recommended for private tour..reasonabla price with negotiable captain..kids love him ...
Written 11 July 2022

Jerry teoh
1 contribution
Family
The best service from mr khairul. He is very experience on kuala sepetang and its surrounding. Eagle, dolphin, fish farm, mangrove. U name it :)

SyedAbdulAziz
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
2 contributions
Family
We had an enjoyable boat ride in a family of seven plus two kids. Cikgu Khairul, the boatman was very friendly and he gave us lots of information throughout our wonderful trip. Would certainly recommend this operator.

Margaret S
Puchong, Malaysia
7 contributions
Friends
Enjoyed all the activities & explanation provided on the boat cruise. I was really amazed during the Eagle feeding, so breathtaking.

Wilson Leow
1 contribution
Mr.Khairul is a very experienced, interesting tourguide and passionate to share about the nature that Kuala Sepetang has to offer.

My students enjoyed his guiding very much and are able to learn a lot from him! Breathtaking experience!

Sietske de Keijzer
1 contribution
Family
We had a fantastic boat tour! We saw lots of colourful fishing boats, monkeys, swimming lizards, fish and mangroves. Unfortunately there was quite a bit of trash in the waters surrounding the town. Khairul was a great guide, he is very knowledgeable about the mangrove reserve (and the sustainable management of it), the fishing industry and everything rated to it. We made a stop at a fish farm which was quite neat and had a few species of fish (including pufferfish, horseshoe crabs and mudskippers). We also got to see the eagles and hawks feed close to the boat which was very cool. We couldn’t stay until the fireflies came out but even without that part of the tour I would recommend this experience! If you are a bit confused about the website, just email Khairul and he can help you figure out what package is best for you.

Mr Han Cheng Jun
Family
I highly recommend tourists to join this private boat tour when they are visiting Kuala Sepetang. The guide, Encik Khairul, is extremely amiable, passionate, and knowledgeable about mangrove swamps and its ecosystems. He managed to give very detailed explanations about mangrove trees, fireflies, eagles and the surrounding fishing village while bringing us around on his boat. The eagle flock was very majestic and there were more fireflies seen than at Kuala Selangor. 15/10 would recommended if you want to experience ecotourism at its finest in Malaysia.
NYM
Family
Been here for a short weekend escape. Amaze by the nature and En Khairul is very experienced and knowledgeable. Never thought the trip will be so informative and fun! Thanks for the nice roti canai on boat! Worth a time ❤️

 Norhafiz wrote a review 9 Jan

Worth the prize! Great tour for relaxing with nature and learning experience.

Worth the price! Very good service by the tour guide. Has many knowledge about the place. I learn a lot about the mangrove and the history of the place. The tour guide is good at entertaining kids too, the kids love him. The view is very nice and the breeze is very calming. En Khairul spotted many wild animals. Egret, eagle, monitor lizard, otter and mudskipper. Very valuable and meaningful experience for my family. Will come back soon
Date of experience: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Azlainiwrote a review 7 Jan Johor Bahru, Malaysia

We need more local tourist guide as Mr Khairul. He is a mobile encyclopedia about Kuala Sepetang! You won't regret it. Never think twice. Just booked him. You can thank me later. Enjoy!
Date of experience: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Really enjoyed the warm welcome from Khairul and his assistant, Amirul. And the experience is unforgettable. Planned just to go for the river cruise but we really enjoyed it so we extended our trip to see the fireflies as well! The best part is throughout the whole trip we learn lots of new things about mangroves, the culture there, fireflies, and how to cruise a boat ;) Recommended! Disclaimer: unable to get a good pic of the fireflies with my amateur camera. Only your eyes can see the magic of fireflies ;)
Date of experience: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Atikahwrote a review 7 Jan

+1
The moment our tour guide "touch down" the mangrove bushes was our favourite part of our sighting. It was full excitement with his explanation. He never let us felt "alone" with his knowledge and the information about the fireflies and mangrove area. Kids and olders friendly too. Very highly recommended Cikgu Khairul as the best tour guide 😊
Date of experience: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Huzainiwrote a review 7 Jan
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The most valuable is knowledge sharing by Mr. Khairul. Friendly & funny person with vast knowledge in Ecosystem. A lot learned from him.
Recommended to hire him for a private tour as he was well versed with every corner and history of the visited places.
Worth money spent. Looking forward to visit again to explore more. Thumbs up.
Date of experience: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Sariewrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have an awesome experience watching the fireflies. En Khairul is an ethusiastic and passionate tour guide. His explaination about fireflies and mangrove management are so on point and interesting. He makes me want to go to other tourist attraction in Kuala Sepetang with him. Love the fireflies watching experience. Love the explaination. Love the hospitality by En Khairul. Do contact him at 0125145023 for any tour visit at Kuala Sepetang. A fireflies boat ride with him is a must.
Read less
Date of experience: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Norawrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The fireflies!!! As well as the overall way En Khairul conducted the cruise. He was super informative & had a very fun & pleasant character making the cruise even more enjoyable!
Read less
Date of experience: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Jacki Swrote a review Jul 2020
Penang Island, Malaysia45 contributions19 helpful votes
Khairul was fabulous! We had driven down to Taiping from Penang and made a last-minute decision to try and book a river cruise to see eagles, fish farm, and try to see the pink bottle-nosed dolphins. Khairul spoke terrific English over the phone and made it very easy to book the trip. He was very hospitable and friendly and did a wonderful job in explaining the mangrove ecosystem, community fishing life, and much more. He answered our questions with ease and stopped frequently so that we could take photos. We were unable to see dolphins, but he was so kind to send us a photo of what he'd seen in the past. I would highly recommend him! He was the perfect boy scout guide!
Date of experience: July 2020

Review from Hemmi Dai Tourist from Japan 
En. Ojay Putra, thank you in advance, my next trip to Malaysia, I will ready and make an arrangement enough time for planning. So I will get assistance from you and your family. I'm looking forward to visit Putrajaya and capital city Kuala Lumpur. I travelled only "kampung" Malaysia in recent years, hahaha....En. Mohamad Saleh, En. Hilmi Hamid and family, you are my first homestay family in Malaysia. I remember I suddenly arrived Ibok but Toki accepted foreigner tourist show the firefly and entertain me. I want to see your family in Shah Alam or Kampung Ibok if possible. Toki will get well!En. Adnan Ghani and family in Rhu Sepuluh, let's go to fishing someday. Can I stay the chalet on the beach where Ahmad Abd Azim works, huhuhu....En. Muhamad Pauzi Muhamad and family in Bukit Jering, thanks everytime kindly to me. I like to visit SK Bukit Jering to see many students.Then thank you En. Khairul Salleh Ahmad and relatives, especially Sabtu siblings. You invited me celebration "Hari Raya" at Batu Pahat. It's stretch extended my known "Orang Melayu" family and children. The beginning is your nature blog and 1 e-mail from me.I'm so glad to have many friends in Malaysia. I would like to learn "Bahasa Melayu" and to know "Agama Islam" more.
drl68wrote a review Apr 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia12 contributions12 helpful votes
Just returned from a 1 hour guided tour to see the fireflies in Kuala Sepetang - beautiful little creatures! En. Asri gave detailed stories of the life cycle of fireflies punctuated with humour. The boat ride itself was serenely memorable. Highly recommended!!

No comments:

Post a Comment